Colorado governor extends mask mandate 30 days with new modifications for vaccinated individuals
DENVER (KKTV) - Colorado’s mask mandate will remain in place another 30 days -- but this time with exceptions for people who are vaccinated.
Gov. Jared Polis has long stressed that vaccines are the only way Coloradans can return to normalcy.
Something he is underscoring with the latest amendment to the mask mandate.
Under the newest version of the order, people indoors do not have to wear masks if the majority are fully vaccinated. The order defines a majority as 80 percent or more.
The governor first implemented a mask mandate on July 17, 2020, and has extended the order every 30 days since. This is the ninth time the mandate has been extended.
Click here to read the new order.
Per the new order, masks still need to be worn in the following instances:
In all counties and all dial levels, you need to wear a mask in schools (including for extracurricular activities), child care centers, indoor children’s camps, public-facing state government facilities, personal services (i.e. hair salons, nail salons, esthetician services, body art professionals, etc.), limited health care settings as defined by Public Health Order (PHO) 20-36, congregate care facilities, prisons, and jails. These are settings where transmission is most likely.
In counties in level blue through level purple on the dial (one-week disease incidence rates in excess of 35 per 100,000 people), you also need to wear a mask whenever you are in public indoor settings where 10 or more unvaccinated individuals or individuals of unknown vaccination status are present.
Local communities may have additional mask restrictions.
When can I go without a mask?
The statewide mask order does not require masks outside and no longer requires masks in most indoor settings when at least 80 percent are fully vaccinated.
In counties with fewer than 35 cases per 100,000 (level green), counties are allowed to lift mask requirements in most instances. (Exceptions listed above.)
Additionally, the statewide mask order does not require people to wear a mask if they are:
● Hearing-impaired or otherwise disabled or who are communicating with someone who is hearing impaired or otherwise disabled and where the ability to see the mouth is essential to communication;
● Seated at a food service establishment;
● Exercising alone or with others from the individual’s household and a face covering would interfere with the activity;
● Receiving a personal service where the temporary removal of the face covering is necessary to perform the service;
● Entering a business or receive services and are asked to temporarily remove a face covering for identification purposes;
● Actively engaged in a public safety role, such as law enforcement officers, firefighters, or emergency medical personnel;
● Officiating or participating in a life rite or religious service where the temporary removal of a face covering is necessary to complete or participate in the life rite or religious service; or
● Giving a speech for broadcast or an audience.
Copyright 2021 KKTV. All rights reserved.